Romans 3:20

Romans 3:20 states…

“For no one can ever be made right with God by doing what the law commands. The law simply shows us how sinful we are.”

Romans 3:23-24 states…

“For everyone has sinned; we all fall short of Gods glorious standard. Yet God, with undeserved kindness, declares that we are righteous. He did this through Christ Jesus when he freed us from our penalty for our sins.”

Romans 3:27-28

“Can we boast, then, that we have done anything to be accepted by God? No, because our acquittal is not based on obeying the law. It is based on faith. So we are made right with God through faith and not by obeying the law.”

____________________________________

This is a fascinating read. It reveals to us the grace of our God. It is so important to understand that it is NOTHING we do that makes us righteous but is all because of the sacrifice of Christ. From personal experience, I can share that this was a difficult concept to understand. It is so common for Christians to attempt earning grace, even though God has declared that it cannot be earned…it is a gift. This declaration proves his love to us and shows us His character.  In Christ, there is no fear…there is only freedom.

“Such love has no fear, because perfect love expels all fear. If we are afraid, it is for fear of punishment, and this shows that we have not fully experienced his perfect love.” (1 John 4:18)

When we experience the fullness of Christ, and really understand his unconditional love for us…is when Satan loses power over us. His greatest weapon is fear, but with Gods love we have nothing to fear, we have the Grace of God. God has called us his own, and he has promised to take care of us.

So yes, be filled with the truth that no matter who you are or what you have done, God loves you. There is nothing that will make him love you less or more, his love is infinite. And yes, even as a christian…you wont be perfect. You will make mistakes along the way, you will continue to grow in Christ. So don’t beat yourself up over imperfections, God has perfectly put you together and he is a gentle and patient God who will work within you to mold you into who you are meant to be. God isn’t out for your perfect obedience, he is after your heart. He wants to know you, and have a relationship with you. Give him your heart, and you will be in harmony with God. Trust that you loved, you are valued, and you are precious to the Father. With him, there is nothing to fear and nothing that is impossible.

I pray that some of you are encouraged and filled with hope. I find this to be such an important lesson from personal experience. After coming to Christ, the idea of grace was foreign to me. I spent almost the entire year trying to obey, trying to be perfect, feeling like a failure if I messed up, being harsh with myself. That is not what God wants…not for me and not for you either. It took me a while to accept the message of Grace…the free gift only through Christ. But once I really understood it, I was free. I felt it, I knew because I felt this peace in my heart. A peace that I have never had before in my life, and now I get to live every day in peace and freedom. Praise God for all that he has done for me, I know I am a piece of work…I can be stubborn, but he is persistent. With God, all things are possible.

Leave a Reply

